seesaw

 

As a Christian I am often discouraged by own condition. How can I be a God-Loving Christian when I am so sinful? As you browse my posts you might wonder what kind of believer I am….well, I don’t have an answer to that but I know I need Him.    I am human and as human sin is still within me which makes it perfectly normal for me to have ups and downs…  There are times when I fail Him and times when through Him and with Him as my strength I can accomplish all things…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Bible Verses ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Phil 4:12 I know also how to be abased, and I know how to abound; in everything and in all things I have learned the secret both to be filled and to hunger, both to abound and to lack.

Eph .4:9 (Now this, “He ascended,” what is it except that He also descended into the lower parts of the earth? (10) He who descended, He is also the One who ascended far above all the heavens that He might fill all things.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

According to the Lord’s sovereign arrangement, we need both the ups and downs in order to experience Christ. I thank the Lord for all the valleys through which He has taken me. But with the valleys, there have also been hills. The Christian life is not one vast plain; it is a land with many hills and valleys. It is by the hills and valleys that we experience Christ. Young people, do not dream that your life will be level and plain. On the contrary, you will face many valleys and many hills. You will encounter all kinds of circumstances. But in these circumstances you may apply Christ as your secret and experience Him. It is crucial that we learn to apply Christ.

Bible verses are taken from the Recovery Version of the Bible, 1991, and Words of Ministry from Witness Lee, Life-study of Philippians, pp. 251-252. Both are published by Living Stream Ministry, Anaheim, CA


7 responses to “The Christian Life Being One of Ups and Downs”

  1. Servetus Avatar
    Servetus

    Wise. Every time I read something about how people are not being good enough [Christians, Jews], I think, well, belong to a religion or believing in something doesn’t make you perfect in anyone’s eyes. Life’s a struggle for everyone …

  2. AgzyM Avatar

    I went on a verbal rampage this morning when I read a comment about “A Christian lady from the South” who then proceeded to vent her homophobia. It made me wonder if that label concerning her beliefs means she isn’t also a human being who should respect EVERYONE no matter their race, religion, sexuality, nationality etc.
    I don’t see things in terms of it being sin or not a sin, I think it’s about doing the best you can, perhaps sometimes failing and then trying to learn from our mistakes. The only person you can truly let down is yourself (and we all feel that way at times) but then we can also always do better, especially when we know better.

    1. Servetus Avatar
      Servetus

      I’m fairly sure that “Christian lady from the South” was a troll.

    2. lamaruca Avatar

      Plenty of those “Christians” lurking about unfortunately. The only one that can judge is God. In the he said that we should love one another…so that’s what I intend to do.

  3. N Avatar

    From your post, I can tell you are looking for God and always calculating your coordinates in the world… And looking for God means willing to be with Him and be better. That’s something a real spiritual person (Christian or else) would do! 🙂

Leave a comment