Have I gone mad?

Source (x)
Source (x)

I recently came across a CNN article about falling in love with someone online.  It caught my attention because based on my interactions with Mr. Charming I too have been asking: Is it possible to fall in love with someone you’ve never met?

You see, I haven’t had much practice believing impossible things….and well falling in love with someone on the other side of the Atlantic in such a short amount of time seem nonsensical, impractical, irrational, impossible….or is it?

The article goes on to say, “Despite the current atmosphere of distrust, falling in love sight unseen, often through the written word, has been happening for centuries. The Web has only made it easier. Some experts say communicating online before meeting IRL (that’s In Real Life) can actually foster strong relationships by helping those with similar interests come together over great distances. Potential lovers overlook superficial turnoffs, and people open up to each faster and more deeply.”

I can attest that is true….Mr. Charming and I have graduated from private facebook messages to, texts, phone calls we’ve connected through Google+ and are planning to meet IRL as soon as this weekend!!!  We friended each other on Facebook…He’s seen all my facebook photos – even the not so flattering ones – nostrils flared, caught with my mouth open in mid-roaring laughter, the ones where I look like I have a double chin, baby pictures my father posted… and he is reading my blog post…- ahem – hey there 😉

Things are moving at supersonic speeds which makes it both terrifying and exhilarating!!!  I’m remaining alert and cautious but I’m going to step off my comfort zone and allow this seemingly impossible thing to happen.

Don’t worry Mr. Armitage….I still love you best 😉

Rich2013inLA

7 thoughts on “Have I gone mad?

  1. Every time I see that picture of your Mr Armitage I swear blind it’s Phil Collins.
    As for falling in LOVE long distance, why not? If you correspond with someone you pick up on their humour, their likes and dislikes and all the things you have in common-or not. You warm to people that you share important things with just s you do IRL. When you also speak to them via skype or phone you pick up on inflections in their voice that tell you whether this is a cold or a warm person and again on important things like shard humour or interests. The one thing that can spoil this is the shock of seeing someone is very different than you imagine them but you’ve each shared pictures already and know he’s not Mr. Hyde.
    No reason at all for things not to work when you meet in person. In fact BTDT (Been There, Done That) many years ago with a pen pal when it was just letters and phone calls.
    When we eventually met it was your basic fairytale. An accident later robbed me of her which was crushing but the time we had together……………
    xxx Huge Hugs and Much Luck xxx

  2. There is much excitement in the anticipation alone, but I truly do hope that you find that you have that chemistry in person.

    Why is it every time I see that picture I can’t help but say out loud “*blasphemous expletive* that man is gorgeous!”

Leave a Reply

