To say that I’m not athletic is an understatement

Really, I am not the least bit athletic. Me and sports just don’t mix unless it’s watching them with Dad on the tele. Playing them just isn’t for me.  I’ve just never been very good at sports.  When I have played them I usually get hurt because I have weak ankles due to an injury I sustained as an infant and well I’m rather clumsy.  The only sport I’ve ever enjoyed is swimming.

My senior year in High School I joined the swim team on a whim and did so well that within three months the coach wanted to put me on the varsity team!  I had never done any competitive sports so despite my coaches encouraging me I just couldn’t do it.  Get me on the dance floor, however, and I’ll shake my bom-boms until every muscle in my body aches and my feet are blistered!

Swimming Maruca (circa 1992)
Swimming Maruca (circa 1992)

That’s why when I saw this little nugget on my facebook news feed I decided that it just might be doable:

The 30 Day Plank Challenge will send your core strength through the roof! Yes, all you have to do is HOLD this position, nothing else!  This is not the kind of planking that was all the rage a few years ago where people would be photographed in a face down position with stiffened arms and legs in the most unusual or incongruous locations.

It sounds pretty easy, huh?  Even I can stay still in one position for 20, 30, 40 seconds….maybe.

Day 1 – 20 seconds
Day 2 – 20 seconds
Day 3 – 30 seconds
Day 4 – 30 seconds
Day 5 – 40 seconds
Day 6 – REST
Day 7 – 45 seconds
Day 8 – 45 seconds
Day 9 – 60 seconds
Day 10 – 60 seconds
Day 11 – 60 seconds
Day 12 – 90 seconds
Day 13 – REST
Day 14 – 90 seconds
Day 15 – 90 seconds
Day 16 – 120 seconds
Day 17 – 120 seconds
Day 18 – 150 seconds
Day 19 – REST
Day 20 – 150 seconds
Day 21 – 150 seconds
Day 22 – 180 seconds
Day 23 – 180 seconds
Day 24 – 210 seconds
Day 25 – 210 seconds
Day 26 – REST
Day 27 – 240 seconds
Day 28 – 240 seconds
Day 29 – 270 seconds
Day 30 – PLANK FOR AS LONG AS POSSIBLE!!

WhyPlank

//

Original facebook Post by Alicia Beamer.

Benefits of Plank Exercise:

*It strengthens your lower back
*It develops your core muscles – which include the abs, back, hips and the butt.
*Helps you to avoid injuries and encourage good posture
*Can be done anywhere
*Develops your abdominal muscles by targeting the rectus abdominis

This is a beginner routine but it’s a great place to start!

Care to join me?

12 thoughts on “To say that I’m not athletic is an understatement

  1. I HATE planks with such a passion I cannot even explain! Jillian Michaels digs them and when you watch/do her exercise DVD you think: how hard can it be?!? The plank was invented by a devil-like creature (could even be Sauron!), so I’ll stand here with my pompoms cheering you on for now, OK?

      1. Don’t worry, Doll! I’m no Ms. Michaels – thank goodness! Just keep cheering me on by posting updates on the “Spread the Love” campaign peppered with your fabulous RA crafts!!! 😉

  2. Talk about an unexpected party! Challenges are the easiest way to get my laz… non-athletic behind off the couch, although I spent a lot of time with Ms. Michaels last year. I’m currently doing an abs challenge that consists of 8 exercises, including planks, and I’ m at day 14. Would be interesting to see if I can hold the plank for 90 secs… Yes, planks are hard!

    1. Way to go Richardiana!!! An unexpected party indeed!!!

      I’m considering posting updates on my progress to hold myself accountable….although I’m still not sure I’d post pictures of my jiggly bits crammed into yoga pants or the like….

      1. Posting updates is a good idea – reporting to my friends prevents me from giving up. 😉 Turns out I can hold the plank for 90 secs – yay! – so I’ll join you.

      2. 90 seconds?!?!?! You are AWESOME!!! Having to report back will keep me honest so I’ll do the same only I haven’t started yet!!! I’ll attempt my first plank when I get home from work tonight and report back via twitter…;)

Leave a Reply

