How Did You Know?

lars_and_the_real_girl
source (x)

If you haven’t watched this gem of a film you should add it to your Netflix queue and watch it sometime this weekend.  Director Craig Gillespie does an amazing job of directing the scenes and actors in such a way that many sequences which, on paper, would seem completely perverse or even grotesque, come across as heart warming and endearing.   The actors where brilliant, especially Ryan Gosling.

My favorite part of the film is an exchange between Lars, the main character and his brother.  It goes like this:

Lars Lindstrom: I was talking to Bianca, and she was saying that in her culture they have these rites of passages and rituals and ceremonies, and, just all kinds of things that, when you do them, go through them, let you know that you’re an adult? Doesn’t that sound great?

Gus: It does.

Lars Lindstrom: How’d you know?

Gus: How’d I know what?

Lars Lindstrom: That you were a man.

Gus: Ahhh. I couldn’t tell ya.

Lars Lindstrom: Was it… okay, was it sex?

Gus: Um. Yeah, yeah, yeah, it’s uh, yeah, yeah it’s kind of – it’s uh – no. Well, it’s kind of sex but it’s not uh, you know? I don’t know. I don’t know. It’s – uh – good question, good question.

Lars Lindstrom: Yeah, but I have to know

Gus: [dryer buzzes] Hold that thought.

Gus: [in basement] You know, you should ask Dagmar

Lars Lindstrom: I did ask Dagmar. And she said that I should ask you.

Gus: Okay, you know I can only give you my opinion.

Lars Lindstrom: That’s what we want.

Wait for it here it comes, that bit of wisdom tucked in the words of a character in a movie…

Gus: Well, it’s not like you’re one thing or the other, okay? There’s still a kid inside but you grow up when you decide to do right, okay, and not what’s right for you, what’s right for everybody, even when it hurts.

Lars Lindstrom: Okay, like what?

Gus: Like, you know, like, you don’t jerk people around, you know, and you don’t cheat on your woman, and you take care of your family, you know, and you admit when you’re wrong, or you try to, anyways. That’s all I can think of, you know – it sound like it’s easy and for some reason it’s not.

Click link to view the clip:

How Did You Know? Scene from Lars and the Real Girl Movie (2007) | MOVIECLIPS.

As most of you know I’ve been wrestling with the decision of whether to go back to work or remaining as Niece and Nephews Nanny for the remainder of the school year.  Well, I got the job!  I’m supposed to start on Monday.

Now just to be clear, I am NOT making life choices based on “movie wisdom” but these words keep going ’round and ’round in my head: “There’s still a kid inside but you grow up when you decide to do right, okay, and not what’s right for you, what’s right for everybody, even when it hurts.”

jay, ay, ay, ay…..

9 thoughts on “How Did You Know?

    1. And yet I still feel torn. Children flourish when they have consistent routines. The Baby especially will have a hard time and Nephew will have to be pulled out of school. Brother offered to match the hourly rate if I stayed on as Nanny. But I know he can’t afford it. Sister-in-law is now being distant. Sigh…nevertheless I know that having a job is the best choice for all of us in the long run. O.o

      1. retirement? resume? job skills? not that I’m running down your brother and I totally get the decision to do something that’s not in your immediate or longterm interest, but … what about you?

      2. Yeah totally… He’s thinking about his wants and needs with no consideration for mine much less my son’s. So as much as it pains me to “leave him hanging” I know it’s for the best.

        Thank you so much for your encouragement and support.

  1. This is one my favorite movies as well! I’d heard about RealDolls years before the movie was released and was skeptical when they first made the film and how they were going to approach the subject matter of people who do purchase them, but it was done so beautifully. I love how the whole town came together for him and watched him grow 🙂

    Congratulations on your new job!

Leave a Reply

