A friend of mine whose bread and butter is creating business plans for companies asked me to help her edit for her.  I jumped at the chance.  Sounds so easy but now that I’m actually looking at the thing it’s suddenly looks like gibberish.   BLECH!!!

If I read the business plan she sent me, which she said was started already, I understand what the company is about; same for the company’s framework (where they tell me all about them).  The things is that each of these 23 – page long documents do not seem to be about the same company…..maybe she sent me the wrong documents….I’m so confused but instead of calling her to get clarification like a rational person I’ve just thrown my hands up in the air and have now spent two hours going through my wordpress reader, following links here and there, checking my email, got lost on tumblr, had some tea, and spend an exorbitant amount of time looking at pictures of Richard Armitage….sigh….

According to the “You are not so smart” blog, procrastination is fueled by weakness in the face of impulse and a failure to think about thinking. Weakness….hmm….am I weak?  Perhaps, I am….sigh…..  oooohhhh doesn’t Richard look incredible in this picture?

Image

 

18 thoughts on “Procrastinating

  1. I throw my hands up at the slightest little thing at home…actually, to be fair, I don’t usually get as far as attempting it. It could be cleaning, cooking, writing…anything! Wen I was working I was quite the opposite while at work but just the same at home. The lure of the sofa and the TV is just too much 😉

    1. Glad to know I’m not alone, Kathrynruthd! My greatest temptation is the internet….Currently we don’t have a sofa…we started rearranging furniture and where going to swap the office furniture from the breakfast room to the dinning room but the project is at a standstill due to over scheduling. Presently the dinning table is in the living room where the sofa should be and half the office is in one room while half is in the other….it’s all so heavy I couldn’t possibly move it all by myself…sometimes I think I’ve figured out a way but then I get trapped online reading all the lovely posts on any number of blogs I follow, scrolling through tumblr, pinning on pinterest or stumbling on stumbleupon…and of course there are the various unofficial Richard Armitage websites….. 😉

      1. Ouch! that IS a deadly combination! I have to admit that though my niece keeps me busier now when she was a few months younger I too succumbed to this combination as well…. 😀

  2. Sad to say, but I totally relate to this! My job is incredibly hard and responsible and complicated. I find myself staring at my Twitter feed (mostly RArmitage) on my iPhone many times during the day. Because of REASONS!! I need a break!! And then there’s the blogs I follow….And then there’s email!! HAVE to check it!!

  3. When I was writing my MA thesis and hot the wall due to a mean writer’s block that lasted months I’d literally hide out on tumblr. I’d just watch the posts go by, wouldn’t engage or interact. It was my one safe heaven in very choppy seas. Yes, I was procrastinating, but in truth I think it helped me to maintain a balance and not go insane.
    Not all procrastination is bad, as long as you can draw the line and meet the deadline 😉

    1. I imagine he is simply writing about what he knows, which means he probably spends loads of time procrastinating and now that he is an expert he can write about the subject in detail and wag his all-knowing finger at the rest of us whilst making money off of those that purchase his books….just a thought though… 😉

  4. There is a theory that procrastination is actually very productive – because of all those little jobs we find to do when putting off something else. However, I’m not sure how staring at RA on a screen can fall into that category!

Leave a Reply

