This is one of my favorite personal quotes by Richard:

Except for the chocolate ice cream bit, most of us probably grew up hearing this from our parents or grandparents.  Nana, my paternal grandmother always told me, “Mija, siempre trata a las personas como quisieras que te traten a ti.”  In English it means, “Sweetie, always treat people as you would like them to treat you.”  And well chocolate ice cream has been my favorite since I was a child.  I this quote because it’s playful yet it’s good sound advice.

But the quote that most resonated with me when I first happened upon the RA fandom was this one:

me too!
me too! (quote source)

It’s like right off the pages of my own diary.   Books have been my constant companions in life.  Helping me through my parents’ first divorce, my mother’s dating life, and other childhood traumas.  Books take me away from the harsh realities of life and into worlds of fantasy, love and adventure.  During my teens Mother actually threatened to burn all my books if I didn’t start being more social and making friends.  I was terrified that she would actually go through it and so I set out to make actual living, breathing friends.  Yet every night, when everyone was asleep, I’d sit by the window and escape into my books by the light of the moon.

night_reading_retouched_by_fruitcakebill-d4pw679
Books: my constant companions (source)
4 thoughts on “A Favorite Personal Quote

  1. I was just like you, too! Growing up, I loved reading and much preferred to read rather than socialize if I could help it. But I am a pretty social person – that’s what my mom always says and she’s right – but sometimes all I want to do is stay at home and read and lose myself in a different world. That, or write out my own stories 🙂

  2. I’d be forbidden to read books till I did my homework when most kids weren’t allowed to watch TV. I’d just stick my book under my course books and pretend I was hard at work getting an education when really I was in a fantasy world 🙂 I’d also read under the covers with a flashlight and liked being home sick because I got to stay home and read Agatha Christie all day. I can still start a book in the morning and, apart from food and loo breaks, not abandon it till I’m done 🙂

    1. LOL!!! I still do that too!!! I keep a large ikea bookcase in my bedroom, which my sister-in-law both say is an eyesore but I just can’t do without my books. I own a kindle and could also read books on my laptop but there’s something comforting about a turning the pages in a book.

    2. LOL!!! I still do that too!!! I keep a large ikea bookcase in my bedroom, which my brother and sister-in-law say is an eyesore but I just can’t do without my books. I own a kindle and could also read books on my laptop but there’s something comforting about a turning the pages in a book.

Leave a Reply

