Therefore do not be anxious for tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself; sufficient for the day is its own evil. Matthew 6:34

vicissitudesoflife
Photo Source

Vicissitudes, I like the way this word rolls off the tongue.  It’s a great word.  Vicissitudes are circumstances, ups and downs, unforeseen challenges.  They’re all about change, uncertainty, vulnerability, lack of control.  We’ve all had our share I’m sure.  Mine have been like a constant stream.  As a single mom these vicissitudes seem to pile up one on top of the other: my inability to work legally, the financial concerns caused by my unemployment and my desire to provide for my son, his contentious father, his reluctance to pay child support, the tumultuous  atmosphere created by Brother’s ever changing mood swings (I suspect bipolar disorder) – these all take their toll and rob me of my energy.  I feel exhausted and overwhelmed; I can’t think, I can’t be creative, and I’m extremely unproductive.

ToonMe
Remember to breathe, LaMaruca.

Yet even when life feels like a roller-coaster ride, and I find myself lurching through the drama, God urges me on, giving me the capacity to find joy in the rolls and the pitches, to close my tired eyes through the dark tunnels, and to land on my feet ready for another go-around at the end of the ride.  Because at the end of the day HE is sufficient.  His love is sufficient, more than enough to meet AND overcome my vicissitudes.

 “My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is perfected in weakness. Most gladly therefore I will rather boast in my weaknesses that the power of Christ might tabernacle over me.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

Lord, help me meet each vicissitude with a generous helping of your all-sufficient Grace.  Be my strength and my peace.  Allow me to maintain a sense of humor while basking in the reality of your constant loving presence. Amen.

One thought on “Vicissitudes

Leave a Reply

