Little by Little

2 Corinthians 4:16 – Therefore we do not lose heart; but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day.

I REALLY need this verse today.  Feeling a bit down…and starting to beat myself down a bit.    This verse reminds me not be looking at my past, as pitiful or as successful as it may be, nor be anxious about the future, as bright or dim as it may appear. Rather, I should seek the Lord “morning by morning” and “evening by evening” (Isa. 50:4; 2 Chron. 13:11).

The Lord creates our life path with abundant potential, but also with abundant changes as means to help us grow.  He has placed us in a specific era in time, in a specific city, and within a specific community to maximize our personal and spiritual growth.

There is always a tension between what I think I want and what the Lord KNOWS I need.  There are lots of things I want that I don’t necessarily need right now.  Time and time again I’ve experienced Him providing me with exactly what I need exactly when I needed it even if it was not exactly what I desired in the first place.    Which is why I feel so frustrated at this point in my life.  So this is me taking a step back to simply trust Him and wait on HIS perfect timing for the next step in my life.

John 16:33 – These things I have spoken to you that in Me you may have peace. In the world you have affliction, but take courage; I have overcome the world.

I just have to take it one day at a time and “little by little” (Exo 23:30)…“here a little, there a little” (Isa. 28:23).

Image

photo source

Leave a Reply

